Professors Banerjee and Agrawal elected to be AAAS Fellows

November 21, 2016

Professors Kaustav Banerjee and Divyakant Agrawal have been elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2016.

A professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Banerjee was recognized in AAAS’s section on engineering “for distinguished contributions to nanoelectronics, particularly for pioneering devices and interconnects with nanomaterials, and innovating circuit and chip design concepts, all advancing toward ultra-energy-efficient electronics.”  The director of UCSB’s Nanoelectronics Research Lab, Banerjee’s research interests include nanometer-scale issues in complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor very large-scale integrated circuits as well as emerging nanotechnology. A fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), he is the recipient of the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award and the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt Foundation. Banerjee is also affiliated with the California Nanosystems Institute and the Institute for Energy Efficiency at UCSB.

Agrawal’s “contributions to the design and development of scalable fault-tolerant infrastructures for large scale data and information” were cited by AAAS in its section on information, computing and communication. A professor of computer science, Agrawal focuses his research in the areas of database systems, distributed computing, data warehousing and large-scale information systems. His current interests include scalable data management and data analysis in cloud computing environments, and security and privacy of data in the cloud.  Agrawal is a fellow of the Association of Computing Machinery and of the IEEE. He is the recipient of Best Paper awards from IEEE and serves on editorial boards of several journals and publications. He also is the recipient of a UCSB Graduate Mentor Award and is the director of Engineering Computing Infrastructure at UCSB’s College of Engineering.

Related Links