STAGE on BBC World Service Science in Action Radio Program

August 15th, 2012

BBC World Service Radio Program Science in Action follows STAGE International Script Competition through its Fifth Cycle.


Winner of the 5th STAGE International Script Competition Announced

August 14th, 2012

Ear to the Edge of Time, by Alana Valentine, wins prestigious 5th STAGE International Script Competition
for best new play about science & technology.

Press Release Details

UC Santa Barbara Beckman Scholars Program Names 2012 Scholarship Recipients

July 25th, 2012

UC Santa Barbara has named three additional undergraduates to its inaugural cohort of Beckman Scholars, bringing the current number of campus participants in the prestigious research-centered scholarship program to four.

UCSB Press Release

Assistant Professor Ania Blezynski Jayich Receives U.S. Presidential Science Award

July 23rd, 2012

Ania Bleszynski Jayich, an assistant professor in physics at UC Santa Barbara, has been awarded the prestigious Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The award is the highest honor the nation can bestow on a scientist or engineer at the beginning of his or her career.

UCSB Press Release

Grant to UC Santa Barbara Opens Avenues for Science-Minded Transfer Students

July 10th, 2012

Study and training in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) are increasingly seen as critical to the growth of the U.S. economy and to its competitiveness in global industry. Long devoted to advancing these areas, UC Santa Barbara is launching a new program intended to bolster the academic success of low-income community college students interested in pursuing STEM majors at UCSB.

UCSB Press Release

Finalists and Judges of the 5th STAGE International Script Competition are Announced

May 9th, 2012

Three playwrights stand poised to find out which of them will win the prestigious STAGE International Script Competition for the best new play about science and technology. The sole winner will be selected by a world-class panel of judges, all multiple award-winners in their own right: Tony Kushner, Pulitzer Prize, Tony Award, Olivier Award, Emmy Award, Obie Award, and Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award winner; David Lindsay-Abaire, Pulitzer Prize- winning playwright; Donald Margulies, Pulitzer Prize and Obie Award-winning playwright; Dr. Robert C. Richardson, Nobel Laureate in physics; Dr. Frank Wilczek, Nobel Laureate in physics; and Dr. David Wineland, winner of the National Medal of Science and the Benjamin Franklin Medal. More information about the three finalists is available in the press release below.

Press Release

Quantum Control Protocols Could Lead to More Accurate, Larger Scale Quantum Computations

April 4th, 2012

A protocol for controlling quantum information pioneered by researchers at UC Santa Barbara, the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience in Delft, the Netherlands, and the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University could open the door to larger-scale, more accurate quantum computations. Their findings, in a paper titled “Decoherence-protected quantum gates for a hybrid solid-state spin register,” are published in the current issue of the journal Nature.

UCSB Press Release

Quantum Physics Research by UCSB Physicists Chosen as One of Physics World’s Top Ten Breakthroughs of 2011

December 6th, 2011

Quantum hardware developed by physicists at UC Santa Barbara is among the Top 10 Physics Breakthroughs of 2011, as named by Physics World, the news organization of the Institute of Physics.

UCSB Press Release

UCSB Physicists Identify Room Temperature Quantum Bits in Widely Used Semiconductor

November 2nd, 2011

A discovery by physicists at UC Santa Barbara may earn silicon carbide –– a semiconductor commonly used by the electronics industry –– a role at the center of a new generation of information technologies designed to exploit quantum physics for tasks such as ultrafast computing and nanoscale sensing.

UCSB Press Release

President Obama Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists

September 26th, 2011

Sumita Pennathur and Ben Mazin were honored today as President Obama today named 94 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

The White House