People

Faculty
Name Department Areas or Research
Divyakant Agrawal Computer Science
S. James Allen Physics
Kevin Almeroth Computer Science
Paul Atzberger Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering
Leon Balents Physics
Kaustav Banerjee Electrical & Computer Engineering
Guillermo Bazan Chemistry & Biochemistry, Materials
Glenn Beltz Mechanical Engineering
Ania Bleszynski Jayich Physics
Daniel Blumenthal Electrical & Computer Engineering
Dirk Bouwmeester Physics
John Bowers Electrical & Computer Engineering, Materials
Forrest Brewer Electrical & Computer Engineering
Frank Brown Chemistry & Biochemistry
Steven Buratto Chemistry & Biochemistry
Alison Butler Chemistry & Biochemistry
Otger Campas Mechanical Engineering
Michael Chabinyc Materials
Bradley Chmelka Chemical Engineering
Andrew Cleland Physics
Larry Coldren Electrical & Computer Engineering
Patrick Daugherty Chemical Engineering
Steven DenBaars Materials
Adele Doyle
Frank Doyle Chemical Engineering
Glenn Fredrickson Chemical Engineering, Materials
Deborah Fygenson Physics
Michael Gordon Chemical Engineering
Arthur Gossard Materials
Claudia Gottstein
Elisabeth Gwinn Physics
Song-I Han Chemical Engineering, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Craig Hawker Chemistry & Biochemistry, Materials Research Lab
Alan Heeger Materials, Physics
Jacob Israelachvili Chemical Engineering
Luc Jaeger Chemistry & Biochemistry
Nancy Kawalek Media Arts & Technology
Ken Kosik Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Herbert Kroemer Electrical & Computer Engineering, Materials
JoAnn Kuchera-Morin Media Arts & Technology
Gary Leal Chemical Engineering
Everett Lipman Physics
Noel MacDonald Mechanical Engineering
Jamey Marth Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
John Martinis Physics
Ben Mazin Physics
Eric McFarland Chemical Engineering
Robert McMeeking Chemical Engineering
Carl Meinhart Mechanical Engineering
Horia Metiu Chemistry & Biochemistry
Igor Mezic Mechanical Engineering
Umesh Mishra Electrical & Computer Engineering
Samir Mitragotri Mechanical Engineering
Daniel Morse Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Shuji Nakamura Materials
Chetan Nayak Physics, Station Q
Thuc-Quyen Nguyen Chemistry & Biochemistry
Michelle OMalley Chemical Engineering
Christopher Palmstrom Electrical & Computer Engineering
Sumita Pennathur Mechanical Engineering
Pierre Petroff Materials
Linda Petzold Mechanical Engineering
Kevin Plaxco Chemistry & Biochemistry
Norbert Reich Chemistry & Biochemistry
Jon Schuller Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ram Seshadri Chemistry & Biochemistry, Materials, Materials Research Lab
Joan-Emma Shea Chemistry & Biochemistry, Physics
Mark Sherwin Physics
H. Tom Soh Chemical Engineering, Materials, Mechanical Engineering
James Speck
Todd Squires Chemical Engineering
Susanne Stemmer Materials
Dmitri Strukov Electrical & Computer Engineering
Galen Stucky Chemistry & Biochemistry
Luke Theogarajan Electrical & Computer Engineering
James Thomson Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Stem Cell Biology & Engineering
Matthew Turk Computer Science, Media Arts & Technology
Kimberly Turner Mechanical Engineering
Megan Valentine Mechanical Engineering
David Valentine Earth Sciences
Chris Van de Walle Materials
David Weld Physics
Rich Wolski Computer Science
Fred Wudl Chemistry & Biochemistry
Yuan Xie Electrical & Computer Engineering
Robert York Electrical & Computer Engineering
Andrea Young Physics
Education Staff
Name Title Contact Job Role
M. Ofelia Aguirre Director, CSEP (805) 893-7472
aguirre@cnsi.ucsb.edu
1207 Elings Hall
Wendy Ibsen Associate Director, CSEP (805) 893-8527
ibsen@cnsi.ucsb.edu
1205 Elings Hall
Lubi Lenaburg Evaluation Program Manager (805) 893-8544
lubi@cnsi.ucsb.edu
1237 Elings Hall
Arica Lubin Undergraduate and Graduate Program Coordinator (805) 893-3360
alubin@cnsi.ucsb.edu
1203 Elings Hall
Maria Teresa Napoli INSET and CEEM Programs Coordinator (805) 893-2437
mnapoli@cnsi.ucsb.edu
1201 Elings Hall
Sanaa Rupert Science Center Coordinator (805) 893-8527
sana@cnsi.ucsb.edu
2417 Elings Hall
Administrative Staff
Name Title Contact Job Role
Jessica Ajao Contract and Grants Analyst (805) 893-7511
jsajao@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3237 Elings Hall
Daniel Daniels Purchasing Coordinator (805) 893-8012
purchase@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3448 Elings Hall
Eva Deloa Financial Manager (805) 893-8159
deloa@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3243 Elings Hall
Marissa Guillen Administrative Analyst (805) 893-3573
guillen@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3448 Elings Hall
Bob Hanson Building Manager (805) 893-4631
bhanson@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3233 Elings Hall
Susan Kang Faculty Assistant (805) 893-2001
snoh@cpos.ucsb.edu
2520A PSBN
Lynne Leininger Financial Assistant (805) 893-6145
leininger@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3448 Elings Hall
Amanda Maffett Administrative Analyst (805) 893-7510
maffett@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3239 Elings Hall
Tal Margalith Executive Director of Technology (805) 893-6045
margalith@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3235 Elings Hall
Sonya Perez Academic Personnel Coordinator (805) 893-2696
cnsipersonnel@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3448 Elings Hall
Teddy Thomas Financial Analyst (805) 893-6095
tthomas@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3241 Elings Hall
Holly Woo Assistant Director, CNSI (805) 893-4130
woo@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3245 Elings Hall
Technical Staff
Name Title Contact Job Role
David Bothman Microfluidics Lab Manager (805) 893-4125
bothman@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3430 Elings Hall
Lior Dassau, Ph.D. Assistant Staff Scientist (805) 893-6082
lior@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3227 Elings Hall
Lee Sawyer Development Engineer (805) 893-2296
l_sawyer@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3229 Elings Hall
YerPeng Tan, Ph.D. Manager, Biological Nanostructures Facility (805) 893-6068
tan@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3217 Elings Hall
Paul Weakliem CNSI IT Director (805) 893-4205
weakliem@cnsi.ucsb.edu
3231 Elings Hall